Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted my hair regimen. Since it’s changed slightly, I figured it would be a good time to share.

I’ve worked hard the past year on rehabbing my hair and getting it healthy. I made the decision to start using all natural products. I also wanted to stop using rinse out conditioners as leave ins and find actual leave in conditioners. I got lucky and found some that I’m pleased with.

Wash days are no longer an all day affair. I typically can get it done within 2.5 hours. My hair regimen is as follows:

My go to products:
Leave in: Kinky Curly Knot Today – this has proven to be worth the $12 price tag. It keeps my hair adequately moisturized; it’s lightweight and doesn’t weigh my hair down.

image

Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl & Style Milk – a decent moisturizer. I alternate it with my KKKT to stretch the products.

image

I use one of these daily.

Sealer: Olive Oil or Grape seed oil – both of these oils absorb into my hair well and doesn’t sit on top of it.

Styler: ORS Twist & Lock Gel – used when I twist my hair. This gel doesn’t leave my hair hard and stiff like EcoStyler does at times.

image

Co Wash – Trader Joe’s Nourish Spa & Trader Joe’s Tea Tree Tingle – both of these are reasonably priced and provides enough slip for me to detangle if I need to. When I first started my hair journey, I co-washed about 4-5 days a week. Now, I normally do it about twice a week. When I’m not trying to keep my hair stretched, I also might apply one of these when I shower, just for extra moisturizing benefits since my hair dries out easily.

image

image

Pre-Poo: Extra Virgin Coconut Oil – I don’t always pre-poo, but when I do, I use coconut oil. I might pre-poo anywhere from 30 minutes to overnight. There’s no reason why I choose the amount of time. It just depends on my mood at the time.

Shampoo: Shampoo bars – I fell in love with these last summer and have been using them since then. I try to wash weekly.

image

Deep conditioner: Shea Moisture Tahitian Noni & Monoi Smooth & Repair Nourishing Masque – this deep conditioner has been working well for me. I mix it with honey, JBCO, and sometimes coconut milk if I need a bit of protein. I cover my hair with a thermal heat cap for about 30-45 minutes. I’m back to deep conditioning once a week, sometimes every two weeks at the latest because my hair seems to like it better. When I was deep conditioning less frequently, my hair would start to break. 

image

Rinses: ACV & honey – I use these depending on what my hair needs.

Of course, I have other products that I use less often and I’m still in somewhat of a trial and error phase with a few. I will be posting updates about these products as I use them and can figure out how my hair likes them.

