Tags

, , , ,

I’ve seen a few vlogs on YouTube about defining curls and creating coils using the sponge or brush method. I’ve tried coiling my hair using this technique a few times and could not get it to work. I decided to try it again today, but tweaked it to work for my hair. I chose to use the sponge method because I didn’t want to risk damaging my hair again by using a brush.

Most vloggers that have used the sponge technique used a regular sponge and cut holes in it. I also saw where some used a product called Nudred, which is used to twist hair and/or start dred locs. One of the vloggers, Fuesha, tried a sea foam sponge and it worked great on her hair, so I  decided to buy one and see how it would work for me.

wpid-20140811_150517.jpg

Sea foam sponge – $1.97 at Wal-Mart

This is my hair today and I’m loving it!

wpid-20140811_141203.jpg

wpid-20140811_140836.jpgwpid-20140811_141001.jpg

Here’s how I got this look. First, I saturated my hair with my water, aloe vera juice, and JBCO mixture in my spray bottle. I then applied my leave-in and sealed. After that, I used EcoStyler gel so the coils would set. Lastly, I sprayed my hair again. I wanted it to be really wet so it would be easier to form the coils. I think this was the step that was missing when I tried this before and prevented the curls from forming because it worked this time. This also kept my hair from being hard and crunchy once it dried.

To create the coils, I started on the side and used the sponge to gently rub my hair in a circular motion, moving around my head. It’s important to make sure to continue the circular motion in the same direction. It didn’t take much time for the coils to form. The longer you rub, the more defined and tighter the twists or coils will be. My hair tends to curl naturally and I didn’t want them really tight, so I only had to go over my head a few times. Once I was done I misted my hair with Shea Moisture Hold and Shine Mist to give it some shine.

I’m definitely glad that I tried this. It’s so much quicker and easier than doing individual finger coils.

