Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

So, if you read my reviews about Bee Mine’s Bee Mine Curly Butter (click here for Part 1 and here for Part 2) , you know that I’m re-evaluating my stance on patronizing the small business owners that cater to African American women. If you haven’t been a follower of my blog, you can read about this here and here.

That being said, I’ve purchased another butter based moisturizer to use when water based ones are not suitable, as in when my hair is in a twist out or stretched state. This one is Alikay Naturals Shea Yogurt Hair Moisturizer. I saw a review of this on another blog that I was reading and I was intrigued by the name, which caused me to look further into this company’s products.

20140724_202632

Alikay Naturals – Shea Yogurt Hair Moisturizer – 8 oz – $16.00 – alikaynaturals.com

20140724_202639

Product Description

DRY HAIR?? Want Great Braid outs and Twist outs? Shea-Yogurt is here! This great moisturizing blend will leave your hair shiny, soft and defined. Moisture is a MAJOR factor in healthy beautiful hair, especially in ethnic hair. Use as a moisture therapy and for daily styling. You should moisturize your hair daily. A little yogurt goes a long way. Raw shea butter hydrates your hair from root to tip, to replenish moisture. Also keeps scalp healthy without clogging pores. Get Moisturized!

Ingredients

Raw Shea Butter, Sweet Almond Oil, Wheat Germ Oil, Rice Bran Oil, Essential Oils, Rosemary , Herbal and Botanical Blend No Petroleum, No Mineral Oil , No Alcohol, No Paraben, No Sulfate, No Silicones

How to use

Can be used on wet or dry hair. On wet hair wash, detangle, apply leave in conditioner, part hair in sections, and apply a SMALL AMOUNT to each section as you go. Rake it into hair – may feel oily, but will absorb in hair as hair dries. Apply extra to ends to help seal moisture, then braid, twist, cornrow hair or style as usual. Use paper towel to gently pat off excess, the rest will absorb.

20140724_20265520140724_202815-1

This butter is 100% all natural and 100% organic, which is a plus since I’ve been trying to add more of these to my regimen. Like the Bee Mine line, these products are only available at select stores or online. The line is carried by Target but not all of them. It is available in 2 oz travel size for $6, 8 oz for $16, 16 oz for $27, or a huge gallon for $205. I decided to get the 8 oz and ordered online since it was more convenient. The Target location that I found closest to me is about 30 miles away. It took quite a bit of time for this product to arrive after I ordered it – almost two weeks! It took almost a week for the order to even process, which was frustrating being that the product isn’t made to order.

When the package finally arrived, I opened it and found that the contents of the butter had separated – partially oil and butter. But once it sat for awhile they came together to form a whipped, yellowish-orange butter. The color is one I’ve never seen before in a hair product, it’s kind of a strange color, but I like it. The texture is light and kind of froth-like, nothing like yogurt. It seemed to melt in my hands as I rubbed them together. It smells delish, like it could be edible. It has a citrusy fragrance and it lingers in the hair! I love it, but it may be a problem for anyone with a sensitive nose.

I’ve been using this moisturizer for a week and I can definitely see why users have fallen in love with it!!! When using it on damp hair, it made my hair unbelievably soft and shiny. It stayed that way all day! This hair butter moisturized AND sealed my ends and my hair held it’s moisture longer. As indicated by the directions, a little goes a long way. If you are heavy handed, it will leave your hair a bit greasy. But once I figured out the amount that I needed for my hair, I didn’t have a problem. This product does not provide any hold, so it won’t work as a styler. I can’t wait to see how it works on dry hair.

20140726_150225 20140726_150214

I’ve always thought that spending such a hefty amount of money on a hair product was crazy! I never thought that I’d do it. So far, this has been one of the best $16 I’ve ever spent. I will be adding this butter to my arsenal of go-to products.

