Tags

, ,

I’m so glad that checking labels before putting products into my hair is becoming 2nd nature to me. I’m going to have to make sure that I always check BEFORE purchasing, even if it has been recommended by someone that I consider to be a reputable authority in the natural hair community.

So, I purchased these products…
image

…after I saw a review of them by a well-known blogger. Now I’ve followed her enough to know that she is not against cones,  but I would have definitely thought some of the ingredients in these products would have unacceptable.

Here’s a rundown of the ingredients that I will not be putting in my hair,  especially now that I am trying to recover it from damage.

Here’s a list of the suspect ingredients included in these products that causes me sone concern:

Dark & Lovely Au Naturale Anti Shrinkage Knot Out Conditioner
image
Isopropyl Alcohol – Irubbing alcohol) – solvent and can cause dryness
Stearamidoproply Dimethylamine – prevents product separation, adds slip & conditioning
Linalool – fragrance – may cause irritation
Chlorhexidine Dihydrochloride – solvent

Dark & Lovely Au Naturale Anti Shrinkage Hydrating Soak Shampoo
image
Cocamide MEA – creates lather and may cause irritation
Sodium Chloride (table salt) – stabilizer, thickener, pH adjuster and is corrosive if left in hair
Benzyl Alcohol – preservative and can be drying & irritating

At this point in time, there is no way these products will touch my hair, especially since I’m already trying to recover it from damage. I understand that neither of the ingredients are listed as the top five, but I can’t chance doing more harm to my hair now.

Has anyone used these products? What are your thoughts?

