Tags

, , , , , ,

If you’ve been following my blog, you know that I’ve been on the lookout for butter based moisturizers for those times that I’m rocking my twist outs, so I don’t have to moisturize with water or a water based moisturizer and disturb my curl definition. I searched and searched and finally I found a couple that I’m trying. One of them is from the Bee Mine line of products.  These products are manufactured by a small, woman owned, African American business.

Now those of you who have followed my blog for awhile, know that I’ve never found this to be of particular importance and I’ve always thought the products were drastically over-priced. However, I’m starting to change my line of thinking. It’s been said that you get what you pay for. From my research, I’ve found that many of these companies use all natural products and being that they cater to women that look like me, I should at least give them a try. The products from this line have received excellent reviews though I must say, as I perused the Bee Mine company’s website, I didn’t get a feeling of a friendly, customer oriented business. But this review isn’t about the company, but the product, so I won’t get into that.

The Bee Mine line of products are not sold in retail chains. Nor are they sold on Amazon. They can only be purchased from select beauty supply stores or online. The beauty supply store closest to me that sell them is about 25 miles away. And y’all know me enough to know that drive was not going to happen. So website purchase it was. Now if I like this product and decide to add it to my regimen, I will stop by and pick it up when I’m on that side of town.

Product Description

Our Bee Hold Curly Butter is shea butter and aloe based curly butter is packed with rich moisturizing nutrients to give you long lasting moisture and promote growth. It has a soft touchable hold that will help to defrizz your frizzes and give great definition. This Curly Butter is wonderful for twists, finger curls, puffs/pony tails and especially for laying down unruly hair. Great for naturals, relaxed, texlaxed, everyone.

Ingredients

Ingredients: 100% Organic Shea Butter, 100% Organic Aloe Vera Gel, Essential Oil Blend, Vegetable Glycerin, Rosemary Leaf and Chammomile Extract, Silk Powder, Paraben & Formaldehyde Free Preservative and Perfume (This is what is stated on the website). However, the actual container lists Phenoxylethanol and Caprylyl Glycol (Paraben & Formaldehyde Free Preservative)

This is what I found after researching these ingredients:

Phenoxylethanol – Preservative believed to be less irritating than others. Can also be used as a fragrance [Winter pg 399].

Phenoxyethanol is mild to the skin but can be hugely irritating to eyes—though it isn’t found to be irritating in the tiny amounts normally used in products. Surprisingly, it also has some conditioning and emollient properties.

Caprylyl Glycol – Used for conditioning and as an emollient that’s made from both plant and synthetic sources [Gottschalck pg 423]. Made from capric acid and glycol [Winter 7th ed, pg 133].

(This information was copied from the Ingredients Dictionary on Tightlycurly.com. Sources are sited at the end of this post.) 

I’m a inquisitive person by nature. So, I can’t help but to wonder why these ingredients weren’t listed on the website as well. For a person like me who is already skeptical to begin with it makes me start to question integrity. The website ingredients does state: Paraben & Formaldehyde Free Preservative. However, this could be misleading to some. Maybe, I’m reading too much into this, but that’s who I am…that’s what I do. It’s my blessing as well as my curse. :-/ LOL I guess I should get on with this review.

How to Use

Apply to wet or damp clean hair, detangle in sections, smoothing through thoroughly. Style hair with your fingers.

image

Bee Mine Bee Curly Butter – 2 oz Trial Size – $4.50 at BeeMineProducts.com

20140708_221528-1

The Bee Mine Curly Butter is offered in the following sizes: 2 oz Trial Size – $4.50, 8 oz – $13.97, and 16 oz – 23.00. The scents that are available are Coconut Cream, Island Mango, and Unscented. I ordered the trial size so I could try it out and see how it works for my hair. I also ordered trial sizes of the BEE-U-Ti-FUL Moisturizing Deep Conditioner, and the Bee Mine Strawberry Kiwi Hair Growth Serum. I will post reviews of these as well. The website states that it takes several business day to process orders. However, my order was processed the same day that I ordered it and I received it within two days. It was mailed by USPS 2 Day Priority Mail. That was a PLUS.

First off, let me begin by saying I strongly dislike (I won’t say hate…it’s such a harsh word) the smell. I ordered the Coconut Cream, which smells nothing like coconut. It smells synthetic and more like a medicine. But, since it’s not an overbearingly strong, in your face scent, I can deal with it.

This butter is a thick, white cream, which is just what my hair needs if it performs well. The consistency reminds me of a face cream.

I used the butter on freshly washed hair. I sealed with grapeseed oil and then applied it along the length of my strands, making sure to focus on my ends. My hair seemed to love it because I had curls popping all over the place! Winning! Afterwards, I applied Olive Oil EcoStyler Gel and flat twisted. My twists were nice and juicy and the ends were sealed very well.

image

Nicely defined curls

image

Juicy twists with nicely sealed ends

So far, I’m happy with this butter on my wet hair. The real test will be in how well it seals in moisture on my hair when it’s in its dry state. I will be posting an update once I’m able to test it out.

Here’s my hair after unraveling the twists. It’s soft and shiny, but not greasy, and my curls are fantabulous! I have TWIST OUT LOVE right now!!!

TWIST OUT LOVE <3

TWIST OUT LOVE ❤

image

 

Winter, Ruth M.S. A Consumer’s Dictionary of Cosmetic Ingredients: Complete Information About the Harmful and Desirable Ingredients Found in Cosmetics and Cosmeceuticals
New York: Three Rivers Press, 2005.

Gottschalk, Tari E. and McEwen, Gerald N, Jr. PhD, eds. International Cosmetic Ingredient Dictionary and Handbook, Tenth Edition 2004, Volumes 1-4.
Washington D. C.: The Cosmetic, Toiletry, and Fragance Association, 2004.

