Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

OK…here is another product review. I’ve done quite a few of these lately. This one is the Rosemary Nettle Conditioning Shampoo Bar by Elegant Rose Boutique. In my quest for finding more natural products, I came upon this fantabulous Etsy shop!  I ordered this shampoo bar, along with two others: Marshmallow Silk Shampoo Bar and Lavender & Chamomile Shampoo Bar,  about two weeks ago and I couldn’t wait to try them! First off, I must say they are extremely fragrant – without being overpowering. I store them in my linen closet and every time I open the door, I close my eyes and inhale deeply to savour the intoxicating smell that’s lingering. I like that…

I was very pleased with my transaction with this Etsy shop. Elegant Rose Boutique provided excellent customer service. The turnaround time was quick – I received my order within two days. I was also sent a free sample. When ordering from this shop, you can order products customized just for you. These actions say a lot about the company and made me feel good that I chose to do business with them.

2014-07-08 17.52.05

Rosemary Nettle Nourishing Shampoo Bar – 5 oz – $6.00 – Elegant Rose Boutique (Etsy)

2014-07-08 17.49.41

Product Description

This rosemary nettle shampoo bar is a wonderful combination for any hair type.

Treat your hair to a handcrafted shampoo bar that not only cleanses, but also nourishes and softens as you lather. Most commercial shampoos contain harsh synthetics that ‘cleanse’ by stripping your hair of everything, including natural oils. That not only leaves your hair dry and unmanageable, but also dull-looking. This natural shampoo bar is created with hair-loving ingredients, turning an ordinary routine into an indulgent experience, and leaving your hair nourished and naturally beautiful! It can also be used as a bath soap.

The scent is rosemary, tea tree, lavender and cedarwood. A fresh clean scent to clean and moisturize your hair. This is a great bar for all hair types!

This bar also contains a unique combination of nourishing and softening oils and butters. Jojoba oil is a penetrating moisturizer that is similar to our hair’s own natural oils, and is rich in protein and minerals. Wheat germ oil is rich in vitamins A, B, E, and D, improving the health of your hair from it’s root, to it’s tip. A mix of olive and castor oil attracts moisture to the hair and is rich in vitamins, while cocoa butter and shea butter help to soften and moisturize. Coconut oil works to create an incredible lather, and palm oil ensures a long-lasting bar of soap.

To ensure the long life of your soap, store the bar in a cool place, out of direct sunlight until you’re ready to use it. In your shower, store the bar away from the direct water stream, and out of any standing water.

Ingredients

coconut oil, organic palm oil, castor oil, wheat germ oil, avocado oil, jojoba oil, organic cocoa butter, organic shea butter, nettle infused olive oil, water, sodium hydroxide, rosemary, tea tree, cedarwood, and lavender esential oils

How to use
To get a good lather, swipe the bar across your wet hair a few times and lather and scrub. Then rinse.

 

I had a hard time deciding which bar I would use first, but eventually chose the Rosemary Nettle. First and foremost, I must say I was a bit concerned when I saw sodium hydroxide in the ingredients list. However, I know most soaps are made with it and since it isn’t one of the main ingredients, I figured it should be fine. Well…OMGosh!!! I instantly fell in love with this shampoo bar! It has a very fragrant and soothing scent. The lather was amazing and there was no problem getting a lather even with the oily pre-poo I had in my hair. My hair felt clean, soft, and moisturized after using it. I only lathered up once and that was enough. My hair didn’t feel stripped or greasy and the bar provided pretty good slip, which was unexpected but is definitely a plus. I expect to get many uses from this shampoo bar since it’s a nice size at 5.5 oz. I may never buy regular shampoo again.

It made me happy that this shampoo bar is made from mostly natural and organic ingredients. From my research, I found that nettle, which is also commonly known as Stinging nettle or Urtica dioica, is good for controlling dandruff and is said to make hair more glossy. It also has health and medicinal uses as well, such as  for treatment of insect bites, hay fever, and eczema; treatment for disorders of the kidneys and urinary tract, arthritis, tendinitis, gastrointestinal tract, loco-motor system, skin, cardiovascular system, hemorrhage, flu, rheumatism and gout.

Rosemary relieves dry, flaky scalp; fight premature graying; increases shine; gently cleanses the hair, due to its antibacterial properties; stimulates and improves circulation of the scalp encouraging hair growth.

For more information regarding the benefits of the other essential oils used in this shampoo bar, click here for the post I wrote about oils.

 

