Tags

, ,

As I sit here writing this post, I’m saddened and disillusioned about my hair journey. Saddened because I realize what I must do to get my hair healthy. Disillusioned about hopes of what could be. But I’m a realist. When I get real with myself and look at my natural hair journey for what it really is, if I’m really honest with myself, I have to admit that I set myself up for failure from the start.

Last June when I made the decision to start this journey, I was clueless. I had no idea what I was doing. My hair was severely damaged. Knowing what I know now, the first thing I should’ve done was get rid of those damaged ends. As the saying goes, hindsight is 20/20.

So it’s with this in mind, I realize that I must start this journey again. I must big chop and start fresh. This is definitely not what I WANT to do; but more or less what I HAVE to do. When I stretch my hair, I have about 12 inches of length. About half of that is see through ends. The length of my crown is approximately an inch long now that all of the damaged ends have been cut away.

My plan is to continue to pamper my hair for the next two months, while I’m on summer break from work. Being that I don’t have to work, that means I don’t have to manipulate my hair much. I can just let it be. Hopefully by the time school starts, I can prevent anymore damage and the crown has grown enough for me to have kinky twists again.

I wish I knew then what I know now. Then maybe I wouldn’t be in this place right now. Experience is definitely a good teacher. #saddays

