Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

When my hair is moisturized adequately, it’s elasticity awesome, the shrinkage is definitely real, it is soft as all get out, and there are very few curly Q’s scattered across my bathroom floor and sink. This is great news for me! This is how I know my hair is at it’s healthiest state.

Now, I’ve been on this journey long enough to know that sealing my ends is the most important thing I can do for my hair. This is the make or break it phase in our hair care regimen. If those ends aren’t sealed, moisture will escape and we will end up with dry, brittle hair. This will eventually lead to shedding and breakage. My usual ride or die oil has been Extra Virgin Olive Oil, or EVOO as we like to call it. It penetrates the cuticle of my strands well, it doesn’t sit on my hair, and it seals moisture in wonderfully for me. I’ve gotten the best results with EVOO, over jojoba oil and the usual curly girl’s go to oil, coconut oil. Neither of these worked for me. My hair was always dry when I used them.

cooking oilsRecently I’ve decided to participate in a 30 Days With Ceramides Challenge hosted by Jeni, author of Just Grow Already. Ceramides are lipid molecules that are naturally a part of the hair cuticle. They protect hair from moisture loss and protein degradation by keeping the cuticle layer in closed and repairing the cuticle layer of hair. Examples of ceramides are grapeseed, sunflower, safflower, wheat germ, rice bran, and hemp seed oils. Ceramides are better suited for chemically treated, relaxed, and/or damaged hair. I’ve been using grapeseed oil for the past three weeks.

From my research, I found grapeseed oil is supposed to be good for preventing hair breakage, hair shedding, and stimulating hair growth. It’s lightweight, odorless, and is said to be able to penetrate the hair strands better or just as well as EVOO, coconut oil, and jojoba oil. This makes it a great sealant as it protects against moisture loss. I guess it’s no reason why I’m curious about it.

Although I have mixed feelings so far about grapeseed oil, my hair seems to like it. I can’t say that I’ve noticed any less shedding than when I use EVOO, which seals my hair perfectly. But when I consistently moisturize my hair, which I do twice a day, I didn’t have very much shedding. This is a plus. The main complaint that I have with grapeseed oil is that it seems to sit on my hair. It doesn’t penetrate the hair shaft as well as EVOO. My hair does seem to maintain moisture pretty well, but again, not as well as it does with EVOO. I haven’t used it long enough to know whether it is benefitting my hair as far as growth is concerned. I am going to continue to use it and see if it makes a difference in the health of my hair.

