Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’ve seen the Twisted Sista brand mentioned in several blogs that I’ve read. I’d never really been interested in trying it, but when I saw it on sale at Walgreen’s, I decided to give it a go.

Product Description
Twisted Sista Curl Activator puts the life back into tired, lifeless curls. Delivers volume, BIG bounce and soft frizz free curl definition. Formulated to block out the effects of troublesome humidity. Ideal for curly, kinky, or wavy hair.

Ingredients
Aqua (Water), Prunus Armeniaca (Apricot) Kernel Oil, Paraffinum Liquidum , Glycerin, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Hydrogenated Soybean Polyglycerides, C15-23 Alkaline, Cetyl Alcohol, Dimethicone, Petrolatum, Lanolin, Glyceryl Stearate, Litchi Chinensis Pericarp (Lychee) Extract, Argania Spinosa (Argan) Kernel Oil, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract,  PEG-100 Stearate, Phenoxyethanol, Carbomer, Parfum (Fragrance), Xanthan Gum, Propylparaben, Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate, Potassium Hydroxide, Ethylhexylglycerin, Benzophenone-3, Disodium EDTA, Tocopheryl Acetate, BHT, Butylene Glycol, Benzyl Salicylate, Eugenol, Hexyl Cinnamal, Hydroxyisohexyl 3-Cyclohexene Carboxaldehyde, Limonene

How to use
Apply a generous amount to the palms and run through damp hair from roots to ends, tousle curls with hands. Diffuse hair to get the most out of your curl or let it dry naturally for a softer effect. Style as usual. Apply more if needed depending on hair type.

image

Twisted Sista Farewell to Frizz Curl Activator – $5.99 at Walgreens – I got mine on sale for $4.79

OK, first off let me say I didn’t check the ingredients list before purchasing this product. Let me say, some of them sound kinda scary! :-/ I will do some more investigation as to what these ingredients are.

I expected this curl activator to be loose and kind of watery, but it has a thick, creamy consistency. It has a nice scent – smells like melons.

image

White, thick, and creamy

Last night I wanted to moisturize my hair a bit more so I slept in a plastic bag covered with my satin bonnet for the GHE. When I woke up this morning my hair was damp but not to my liking so I LOCed it. Then I applied the curl activator.

image

My moisturized hair

image

My moisturized hair

image

My hair after adding product – used flash on this pic so it’s much clearer

image

My hair after adding product – used flash on this pic so it’s much clearer

image

My hair after adding product – used flash on this pic so it’s much clearer

The reviews that I’ve read about this product were mediocre and lackluster to say the least. So, I was secretly rallying for it, hoping it would perform some type of awesomeness on my strands. Needless to say, I was thoroughly disappointed.

Although my curls are decent, they are quite frizzy. My hair felt heavy, extremely greasy, and somewhat sticky at first. After letting it air dry, the sticky feeling went away but the greasiness is still there, my hair feels dry and stiff. Now to be fair, I did add oil to my hair to seal it before adding the activator. So this could possibly be cause of much of this.

Overall, I’m not impressed with this curl activator. I will try it again and use it exactly as directed and without any other products to see if it performs better.

image

My hair is stiff, frizzy, greasy, and dry – flash used on this pic

This is what my hair looks like after using Twisted Sista Farewell to Frizz Curl Activator. At the end of the day, I was told that I had white residue covering the back of my head. That is so not OK…

