Tags

, , , , , ,

I wasn’t going to wash my hair this week since I haven’t used a lot of product this week. However, I’ve been deeply mourning the loss of my dog the past couple of days, so I decided to focus on my hair in an attempt to get my mind off of it for awhile.

According to the research that I’ve been doing on tea rinses are conditioning treatments. The caffeine in tea penetrates the hair follicle and supposedly helps with hair growth. However, it was also noted that too much caffeine can stunt hair growth, so it’s important to use tea rinses sparingly. In addition to hair growth, tea rinses have been found to prevent shedding and breakage, alleviate dandruff and dry scalp and other scalp issues, soften hair, increase manageability, and restore luster, body, and bounce. The benefits provided to the hair depend on the type of tea used.

I followed my typical wash day routine today, however, instead of doing my normal ACV rinse, I tried a green tea rinse. I washed my hair first while the water heated in my coffee pot. I let the tea steep while I conditioned my hair. After the tea cooled to approximately a lukewarm temperature, I applied it to my hair and let it sit for about 10 minutes and then I rinsed, moisturized and sealed, then two strand twisted my hair wet, which is something I don’t ever do anymore.

I took more time today with my twists. I sectioned my hair into six sections and secured with clamps. I added curling pudding and gel to each section, defined my curls with my Denman brush, and twisted. There were about six twists applied to each section. It took me about an hour to twists since they were much smaller than what I typically do. I lightly misted my hair once more after the twists were done and gently rubbed grapeseed oil over it. I pinned the shorter ones at the crown for some stretch. The longer ones I left as they were.

After the rinse, my hair was indeed pretty soft. I was unable to tell to what extent it was softer than before though. I will update throughout the week about my hair’s progress or anything that I notice.

image

Green tea

image

Teabag submerged in cup of boiling water

image

Steeped for about 5 mins

image

Freshly washed hair

image

Tea rinse applied to strands

image

Hair sectioned into six parts and two strand twisted

image

Two strand twists

image

Two strand twists

