Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Well it’s that time again. It’s wash day, a day of pampering for my tresses. Before deep conditioning, I applied grapeseed oil to pre-poo my hair and hot oil treatment. Then I applied my deep conditioner concoction – Herbal Essences Honey I’m Strong & Garnier Fructis Sleek & Shine Fortifying Conditioner for the base. I added Quidad Climate Control Defrizzing Conditioner, Aussie Moist 5 Minute deep treatment, ORS Olive Oil Deep Conditioner, coconut milk, vitamin E oil, tea tree oil, peppermint oil, and grapeseed oil. I love the way the tea tree and peppermint oils make my scalp tingle.

Lastly, I pulled my hair up loosely and secured it with a clip. I covered it tightly with a plastic bag and my satin bonnet.

image

Saturated with conditioner

image

Saturated with conditioner

image

Pulled back loosely and secured with a clip

image

Covered with plastic bag

image

Covered with satin bonnet

So, it’s now approximately 3 hours later. I let the deep conditioner marinate for about 2.5 hours. I rinsed using very warm water and washed using Pantene Clarifying Shampoo. I had a lot of build up due to the amount of gel that I’ve used twisting my hair this week. I followed with an ACV rinse and an oil rinse using grapeseed oil and rinsed using cool water. I then conditioned my strands with Shea Moisture Restorative Conditioner. I let it sit for about a minute and then rinsed using lukewarm warm water. My curls were nice and springy. I used Aussie Moist for my leave in and sealed with grapeseed oil.

image

After washing – no product

image

After washing – no product

image

After washing – no product

You notice I’ve used grapeseed oil during my wash today. I’ve had it for awhile and have hardly used it. I knew I had to have purchased it for a reason so I did some more research to find out why. I found out that it’s supposed to be a great moisturizer for hair and scalp, promotes hair growth, strengthens the hair structure, it’s lightweight and will penetrate the cuticle easily so it makes a good sealer, it’s a good conditioner, fights dandruff, and makes the hair shine. Since it has all of these wonderful benefits, I decided to give it a try.

image

Expeller Pressed Grapeseed Oil

image

Moisturized and sealed

image

Moisturized and sealed

image

Moisturized and sealed

I use a hefty amount of conditioner for my leave in. My hair tends to dry out easily and I find this helps keep it moisturized longer.

I no longer twist on wet hair, so now, I will let it dry a bit.

An hour or so has passed and I finished flat twisting my hair. I let it dry for about 30 mins before I started. I used Elasta QP Mango Lime Curling Pudding and my new love, Olive Oil EcoStyler, for definition and hold. It took me about 25-30 mins to do six twists. They are nice and juicy. I am very over protective of my edges, so I’m careful not to pull it too tight.

image

Flat twists

image

Flat twists

image

Flat twists

image

Flat twists penned back for stretch

So, wash day is complete. I can now get back to my Law & Order marathon and relax for the rest of the evening. I will post the take down tomorrow. It took a lot of willpower not to do a length check…it’s not time yet.

