Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It’s funny how things change from day to day. A couple of days ago, I wrote a post about having mixed feelings about my hair. Since writing that post,  I’ve had a few eye opening experiences – a few that I’ve had before,  but keep getting away from. I need to do better about being consistent.

1. My hair needs to be moisturized at least twice daily. I realized this awhile ago but got away from doing it. I must moisturize at least morning and night.

2. No matter how much I want it to, my hair does not like coconut oil as a sealant. This too is something I realized in the beginning but I keep trying to use it. I need to stick with EVOO on my hair, which it loves, and use the coconut oil for all of its other wonderful benefits.

3. My hair has very low porosity. I must moisturize consistently and maintain it. (This goes along with #1)

4. My hair gets tired of the same products. I don’t particularly like this but it is what it is. I like to find a product that works and stick with it but my hair doesn’t want to cooperate. Hello Hydration had been working well, but all of a sudden it was no longer working effectively. So I reverted back to the Aussie Moist, which my hair also liked, and whalla! My curls started to pop again. So, I think I will alternate between the two and see how that works.

5) I know this is taboo for natural hair, but my hair likes hot water! Yikes! I know, I know – hot water is the devil where natural hair is concerned. Well, I’m finding that it works in allowing me to moisturize my hair properly. I’m thinking this has something to do with #3. Since my hair has low porosity, it’s hard to get the moisture inside the strands. The hot water opens the cuticles up, allowing the moisture to get in. At least that is my theory. Now there is no way I’d even consider using hot water on my hair on a daily basis. I know that would do more harm, than good. But what I will try is using the hot water once a week to open the cuticles, then moisturizing, and then following with cold water to close the cuticles. So far, this process has seemed to help keep my hair soft and moisturized and my curls have been popping. I’ve been doing this for two weeks now with good results. I will continue to update on how this works for my hair.

The journey continues…

