Tags

, , , , ,

Not until I started my natural hair journey did I really think about the price of hair products. I mean when I was relaxed, I could buy a relaxer for $4 bucks!!! (I normally used the kiddie relaxer Just 4 Me.) Motions shampoo and conditioner could be purchased for about $5 a bottle and I got get a bottle of Motions spritz for $3. But now that I’m back to natural, I have become cognizant of how ridiculously overpriced natural hair products are that are manufactured by black companies: $18 bucks for a 4 oz container of Jane Carter’s Nourish and Shine Butter, $23 for 8.5 oz of Miss Jessie’s Pillow Soft Curls, $14 for an 8 oz bottle Oyin Honey Hemp Conditioner…I could go on and on…I mean, I understand that these are usually small businesses, but geez!!! As I scanned the shelves of products while I was doing some shopping to replenish some of my staple products, my eyes were drawn to these products and it made me think: These prices certainly make it hard for many women to patronize these wonderful businesses owned by awesome black sistahs. As I said, these were just my thoughts…

