Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Soooo, I found out that my hair, EVEN MY EDGES, can be laid down! I mean slicked back and laid down! Talk about SURPRISED! Who was surprised? That would be me! I mean wow! AWESOMENESS!!!!

So how did this come to be? Well, I decided to attempt a bun. I’ve never really liked buns in my hair. Actually, I’ve never really worn my hair in an updo, except when I had kinky twists and there was a lot more hair to work with and I could get a full effect. Otherwise, I’ve always thought my face was too narrow. But I decided to step out of my little self imposed box and try it. Well, it actually looks alright. I still think my face is kinda too narrow for the look, but I think I can pull it off.

Here’s my bun…

image

image

image

image

image

How did I accomplish this look? Well, I must admit, it is a faux bun! I used some left over hair that I had from when I had my kinky twists and I shaped it into a bun and used bobby pins to secure it.

Now, how exactly did I get that hair to lay down so smoothly??? EcoStyler gel! Go figure! I smoothed the gel around my edges and used my Denman brush to brush my hair back and put it up in a little pony, well pig tail. I tied my scarf around it and left it on while I graded some papers. When I took it off, my hair stayed it place! 🙂

Now I have another quick, go-to style, in addition to the puff, for those days that my intended style doesn’t work! Loving the versatility of my natural hair!

