Tags

, , , , ,

Soooo… I’m sitting here thinking about how far my hair has come in this short period of time during my journey. I’m so happy that I made this choice and I’m deeply in love with my hair. These coils growing out of my scalp have definitely changed my outlook on hair, as well as boosting my self esteem and confidence. I mean, my inner sexy has come out and it’s shining bright! Why didn’t I do this sooner?

I remember some years ago, before actually going back natural, I BCed for a new look but I texturized my hair. I assumed that since I was not “relaxed” – hair bone straight – I was pretty much natural because my hair had texture. I was wearing rose colored glasses and had an altered view of what it was really like to be natural. I remember going to bed without doing anything special to my hair and waking up to just rub some pink oil lotion through it and walking out the door! I would think, how easy it is to have natural hair, all I have to do is get up and go! How awesome is this!

Fast forward eight years later, I BCed again and once again texturized it. After rocking my TWA for a few months the texturizer grew out and I cut the ends off. Boy, was I surprised at how my”real” natural hair behaved! I didn’t know what to do with it so I installed kinky twists and wore them for almost a year!

I absolutely loved the twists but I was intrigued by my hair that was growing underneath. I decided to take the plunge and jump head first into the unknown waters of rocking my natural hair. I must say this journey has been a rocky one to say the least. But I was determined to work through it. I’m so glad I didn’t give up and quit during all of my moments of frustration and disappointments. I have learned so much about this beautiful mane of unruly, kinky, coily curls on my head. But the big lesson I learned? It is definitely not the walk in the park I assumed it was all of those years ago. However, it is worth all of the sweat and tears and every bit of effort!

