Tags

, , , , , ,

Contains sodium chloride

Contains sodium chloride

After checking the ingredients of two of my staple products, I noticed that they contain sodium chloride, which supposedly dries out the hair. I’m wondering if these could be the culprits that have been making my curls dry out. I came across this Ingredients Dictionary on TightlyCurly’s blog and it has made figuring out labels so much simpler! (Saved it to my phone so it’s readily accessible when I’m shopping!) Anyhoo, I’m going to see how my hair responds without these products. 

Protein-free conditioners

Protein-free conditioners

I’ve also started to wonder if I’m overdosing my hair with protein! I decided that I’m going to try a leave that is protein-free. After checking the ingredients in these products that I already have in my supply (I won’t have to go out and purchase any products!!! Yayyy!!!), I realized that they do not contain protein. For the next few weeks, I’m going to use them as leave ins and only do a protein deep conditioning once a week to see how my hair fairs.

Scientifically speaking, I should only change ONE thing at a time so I can easily assess what is causing any changes that may occur. However, I’m too impatient for that! :-/ I think with only these two changes I should be able to narrow it down. (Teachers are notorious for doing just the opposite of what we tell our kids to do!!! LOL) Here goes nothing!!!

