Tags

, , , , , ,

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????I’m still learning about my hair and as I do the more I fall in love with it! It’s becoming easier for me to know when to moisturize it and when to let it be, which is the most important part. I’m also loving it’s versatility. However, there are a couple of things about natural hair care that continues to baffle me. One being how to style my hair in this “awkward stage” (although I’m not too sure that I consider it to be awkward) but that’s another post; the other being if there is an issue that’s causing my hair to misbehave – figuring out what’s creating the problem and knowing how to resolve it.

I’m a kinesthetic/visual learner, so I have to be able to do & see when I’m learning something new. So for example, it’s hard to know what hair that “feels like straw,” indicating too much protein, feels like without touching hair that feels like straw. It’s difficult to know what damaged hair looks like without seeing damaged hair. I have a hard time comprehending how hair strands can snap or even what snapped hair means without seeing hair snap.This has been the hardest part of this journey for me; but in the end I think it’s going to really help me become an expert on my hair.

In the beginning I tried to incorporate everything that I saw in other people’s blogs, vlogs, FB posts, articles, and anything else I came across into my routine. I was an overwhelmed, confused mess! Eventually, I realized that I would have to take the basics and tweak them to fit my hair. What a difference that made in my life! Many times I had considered quitting and running to the nearest beauty supply store to pick up that box of relaxer. I’m so glad that I decided to just take a step back and listen to my hair.

No, I don’t know it all and yes, I’m still trying to figure out what my hair likes and what it hates. But what I do know is that my hair is unique. Sometimes it’s tempremental and has a mind of its own and no matter how much I try to tame it, it’s going to rebel and do its own thing. But at times it’s placating and very cooperative. Regardless of which extreme it takes, I’m completely smitten!

Honestly speaking, I don’t know if my hair is 4a, b, or c. I don’t know if it’s spirally, coily, or zig zaggy. I don’t know if my stands are fine, medium, or course, nor my hair’s density. And I don’t know what percentage of shrinkage I get. But what I do know and all that matters to me, is that this hair that grows from my scalp is mine in all its kinky, coily, rebellious glory! I have an infatuation with this hair of mine that no one else on this Earth has but me. I’m enjoying this slow dance, this flirtation, this seduction that has caused me to fall head over heels in love….with my hair.

