Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

So, for my co-wash today I tweaked my routine a little bit. Since my hair has been feeling so dry, I wanted to see if some changes would make a difference. I used the Herbal Essence Honey, I’m Strong & VO5 Moisture Milk conditioners for my co-wash instead of the usual – Pantene truly Natural Co Wash Conditioner. After massaging it into my roots, I detangled and then applied some JBCO. I covered it with a plastic cap while I showered.

I always rinse in cycles – meaning I started the rinse process with warm water to open up the cuticles and let all of that good moisture from the water in, then progressively change the temperature until the final rinse is done with cold water in order to close the cuticle. As I’m doing this today, I could feel my curls plumping as I ran my finger through it.

I didn’t dry my hair this time. I simply squeezed the ends a bit and let it air dry completely. What a difference this made with my curls. Usually I dry with my t-shirt and my hair is always really dry afterwards. That was not the case today. Instead of using conditioner for my leave in as I usually do, I used my shea butter cream that I made for moisturizing, making sure to coat the ends well and vigorously shake my head to separate the curls. I let the butter sit for awhile as I brushed through using my Denman brush. I then added Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie, again making sure to coat the ends well. Lastly, I sealed the ends with EVCO and applied JBCO to my edges. I let it air dry completely.

I’m very pleased with the overall look and feel of my hair. I can definitely see my curl pattern all over, even in the top where the curls are usually nonexistent. I will continue to do this to see if helps with the dryness that I’ve been experiencing. I’m very optimistic right now!

(The pictures of my hair below are after adding the shea butter cream, but before adding the curl enhancing smoothie). I try not to get caught up in hair typing…I just try to figure out what works for my hair. But when I first started my hair journey, I tried and just could not for the life of me figure out what my hair type is. I know I have at least two different textures going on in this head, but now I’m guessing that I’m  4A kinky, coily mostly, with some 4C thrown in.

20130718_214708 20130718_214805 20130718_215007

