Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today is Sunday, my wash day. I don’t know what it is about wash days, but I look forward to them. Yes, they are very time consuming. However, as I go through my wash routine I have a sense of pride, self acceptance, and self love – that I’m doing something good for myself and my hair. I really don’t know how to explain it.

I pre-pooed last night using my whipped shea butter mixture, JBCO, and EVCO overnight. This morning I used my spray bottle to wet my hair and then used Shea Moisture Retention Shampoo to wash, being sure to massage my scalp adequately. After shampooing, I rinsed and conditioned using Shea Moisture Restorative Conditioner. I followed that with a hot oil treatment using the mixture of oils that I’d prepared a few weeks ago. I decided not to wash the oils out before doing a protein deep conditioning. After sitting under the dryer for 30 minutes, I rinsed my hair, used my Denman brush to detangle and define my curls, and banded it for a stretched fro. Love that fro!!! 🙂

My hair felt really soft, but I’m noticing more shed or broken hairs today. I’m not sure exactly which they are. I’ve read that shed hairs will still have the bulb attached to the root. I’ve never seen that to know what it would look like. But I don’t think that’s what I’m seeing. It’s no secret that my hair is very damaged. So I’m pretty positive these hairs are directly connected to that problem. I’m not quite sure how to resolve this issue. I’ve been doing everything that I’ve found through my research but it doesn’t seem to be working. Actually, it seems to be getting worse! But, coincidentally, my hair seems to be growing. I’m so confused! But I’m not giving up yet. I’m determined to figure this out!!!

