Tags

, ,

OK…so the last two days I’ve had my hair in flat twists. As I was looking at it in the mirror, something looked strange to me. There’s was something weird going on with my hair at the front. It kind of looked like I had cut it too far back (my hair tends to grow the little peak at the front that many refer to as the Eddie Monster and I always cut it). I know I didn’t cut it that far in though because I’ve been doing this for so long I know exactly where I need to cut into my hairline. So I shrugged it off, thinking that I was making too much of nothing.

Well, fast forward to today. I untwist my hair – honestly for no reason. I just like to see if I’m getting better at styling it or if I can repeat a style that I like repeatedly. I will put it out there… I’m obsessed with my hair!!!! Anyway, after I get it picked out into one of the fiercest fros that I’ve accomplished to date, my eyes are drawn to that area at the front again. Something just didn’t look right. Upon closer inspection, I noticed that my hair has broken off! How in the entire hell did that happen???? I feel tears welling up in my eyes. I try to reason with myself by acknowledging the fact that I’m a 40 year old woman standing in front of a mirror about to cry over my hair. But that’s useless at the moment. All I could think about was how I’ve been really careful with handling my hair and how I’m at a loss as to how this could have occurred all of a sudden.

image

