Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve been having some issues with the Ecostyler gel creating a white residue in my hair when I use it. However, as I’ve done some of my research, I’ve come across several people that swear by it. I decided to dig a little bit more to see if I could find out how they are using it and what they do, if anything, to prevent the residue. As I was reading I came across a blog posting by UrbanBushBabes with a recipe for making your own gel out of flax,seeds. This piqued my interest so I did some more research and came across tons of YouTube vids by people who make their own gel using flax seeds and how well it works for them. So, me being the do it yourselfer that I am, decided that I wanted to try it as well. Turns out it was very simple to make.

I mixed 2 cups of water and a little more than 1/4 cup of flaxseeds into a saucepan and put it over med heat to boil until there was a frothy, egg white consistency foam on top.

I mixed 2 cups of water and a little more than 1/4 cup of flax seeds into a saucepan and put it over med heat to boil until there was a frothy, egg white consistency foam on top.

As I stirred it using a wooden spoon, I noticed how it actually started to look like get.

As I stirred it using a wooden spoon, I noticed how it actually started to look like gel!

I poured the flaxseed mixture into a strainer to allow it to drain into a measuring cup.

I poured the flax seed mixture into a strainer to allow it to drain into a measuring cup.

I used a bamboo skewer to test the thickness.

I used a bamboo skewer to test the thickness.

I poured the gel into an airtight container.

I poured the gel into an airtight container.

The gel starts to thicken as it cools. I mixed in some jojoba, almond, vitamine E, and tea tree oils, along with some aloe vera gel. I also added a few drops of jasmine oil for fragrance, which in the end I didn't I wished I hadn't have done. I didn't like the smell of it. It actually smelled fine before adding it.

The gel starts to thicken as it cools. I mixed in some jojoba, sweet almond, vitamin E, and tea tree oils, along with some aloe vera gel. I also added a few drops of jasmine oil for fragrance, which in the end I didn’t I wished I hadn’t have done. I didn’t like the smell of it. It actually smelled fine before adding it.

From what I read and saw in vlogs online, this should keep in the refrigerator for about 3 weeks or so. I put the used flax seeds into a container and put them in the  refrigerator to use next time.

I used a little bit to try to smooth down my edges, but it didn’t work too well for that. So I will see how it works on holding curls and post about that when I try it.

 

 

 

 

 

