Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Whew! These last few weeks have been a rollercoaster ride for me and my damaged, awkward length hair! But all in all I guess I can say I feel pretty good about the progress that I’m making. I have learned soooooo much about my hair; more than I thought I would be able to absorb in such a short amount of time. That makes me happy! So I smile! šŸ™‚

I had beautiful 2nd day hair yesterday (I got so many compliments on it!!!), but 3rd day hair? Not so much! I tried to see if I could stretch it 3 days and that was a negative. The curls were stretched out too much, too many frizzies, and dry ends. So I went about my Sunday as I had originally planned. It became wash day. (I overslept and missed church….let me stop lying…I was lazy and let myself oversleep and missed church. :-/)

Anyhoo, my wash day consisted of pre-pooing (hehehehe – pooing – that always makes me giggle for some reason…) by thoroughly saturating my hair with coconut oil from roots to ends and letting it sit a while.

Ingredients for hot oil treatment

Ingredients for hot oil treatment

I prepared my oils for for my hot oil treatment in the meantime. Since I knew I would be doing a clarifying wash today, I wanted to make sure my hair was oiled adequately as to not strip it so much. I mixed jojoba oil, avocado oil, black castor oil, sweet almond oil, vitamin E oil, and tea tree oil (yes, a lot of oils but each serving a particular purpose) in a spray bottle that I’d saved. I boiled water and placed the bottle into the hot water to heat it. Once it was heated to my liking, I separated my hair with my fingers and sprayed the oils onto my scalp. When I was finished I sprayed my hair and massaged all of this wonderfulness into my scalp. I then covered it with a plastic cap and sat under the dryer on warm for about 15 mins.

After the hot oil treatment, I jumped in the shower and showered and then washed with Pantene clarifying shampoo. I did a cold water rinse with a apple cider vinegar and water solution that I’d mixed prior to shower and dried with my tshirt (I’m so glad I found that tip because my hair doesn’t feel as rough and dry as it used to feel when drying with a towel).

Ingredients for deep conditioner

Ingredients for deep conditioner

I applied my deep conditioner consisting of Cantu Shea butter repair cream, Herbal Essence Honey I’m Strong Strengthening conditioner, honey, EVOO, coconut oil, and coconut milk, that I had already premixed. I applied it to my hair, donned my plastic cap, and then under the dryer I went for another 45 minutes, this time on high to make sure I got good penetration.

Lastly, I rinsed most of the conditioner out, applied a bit more shea butter repair cream and Pantene truly natural cowash conditioner, sprayed with my spray bottle solution, and then sealed with coconut oil. My hair feels lovely and I have have clumpage!!!

The things us natural gals have to do to keep our hair right. But I feel like I’m being good to myself in a way after all of this. It was very time consuming…but my hair is going to thank me, I’m sure. I’m willing to invest this time for healthy head of hair.

Now, what did I do with all of that leftover coconut milk??? Good question!

I freezed the leftover coconut milk! I got this tip from Naptural85's YouTube vlog. Now I have separated, individual portions ready! Love this idea!!!

I froze the leftover coconut milk! I got this tip from hairscapades.com. Now I have separated, individual portions ready! Love this idea!!!

Now off to finish air drying my shrunken fro I go!!!

