Tags

Below are photos of my hair texture – free of any products. I have noticed that the texture at the Back and top is coarser and less wavy or curly than the sides.

After so much reading, here is what I’ve learned (or THINK I’ve learned) about my hair:

*** UPDATE AS OF 8/6/13 – EVERYTHING I THOUGHT I KNEW BELOW I NOW BELIEVE I DON’T KNOW!!!! LOL… ***

Curl Pattern: 4A – Coily Springy – tightly coiled and has an “S” pattern – has a definite curl pattern. Very fragile with lots of strands packed densely together. Has fewer cuticle layers so it has less protection from damage. (For the most part this is what my hair seems to be. Actually I think I have different textures in different areas. The back is definitely for 4C – the hardest type to manage – yes it’s doing the most!!! SMH)

Porosity (how well hair absorbs and holds moisture): Medium/High – absorbs moisture easily. Can benefit from protein treatments occasionally, but shouldn’t be used daily. Humectants are good to use in cool/cold weather, but not in humid or hot weather.

Density (width of the strands): High (thick hair) – can’t see scalp easily, hair strands are packed close together. Needs heavy products, gels, creams, and butters to hold curls together and reduce volume.

(Info comes from NaturallyCurly.com)

Right  side

Right side

Left side

Left side

Left side

Front

Top

Top

I couldn’t get a decent pic of the back.

